33 Comments
Feb 7, 2020Liked by Best Evidence

In the Dark!

Expand full comment
Feb 7, 2020Liked by Best Evidence

Popular Crime for sure. The Skies Belong to Us (Brendan Koerner) and While the City Slept (Eli Sanders) didn't get nearly the attention they should have, so I recommend both frequently. And for people who enjoyed the Netflix series Unbelievable, I've sung the praises the book on which it is based, A False Report. The great failure of my life is that I missed the opportunity to download Final Vision before it disappeared.

Expand full comment
Feb 7, 2020Liked by Best Evidence

Crazy Love about Burt Pugach and Linda Riss. I always caution people not to look up the case in advance as going in without any info is the best possible way.

Expand full comment
Feb 7, 2020Liked by Best Evidence

podcast: Missing & Murdered: Finding Cleo

book: House of Secrets by Lowell Cauffiel

documentary: There's Something Wrong with Aunt Diane

series: The Keepers (which is about my high school)

Expand full comment
Feb 7, 2020Liked by Best Evidence

Bad Blood audiobook to a wide array of people, true crime fans and not.

Also have walked up to the line of full-on lecturing people about how they must watch When They See Us. I understand the reluctance but it’s important and so well done. That last episode stuck with me more than almost anything I watched last year.

Expand full comment
Feb 7, 2020Liked by Best Evidence

I often rec the doc "Dear Zachary" with a giant DO NOT GOOGLE warning. Seriously, DO NOT GOOGLE. Also stanning hard for the podcast "You're Wrong About" these days, which, while not de jure true crime, is a de facto entry in the genre.

Expand full comment
Feb 7, 2020Liked by Best Evidence

Unfolding Florence: The Many Lives of Florence Broadhurst, an Australian documentary about a woman with a shadowy past who became an acclaimed interior designer and was murdered. It's got everything! I also recommend Sarah Marshall's Ted Bundy article in the Believer all the time. Dan Davies' book on financial fraud, Lying for Money, is so so so good I bang on about it incessantly. There's a graphic novel memoir about the Green River Killer which IMHO was one of the best texts on dismantling the 1990s serial killer mystique. And I dunno if it counts but there's a novel called Harriet by Elizabeth Jenkins based on a real life crime that I'm constantly pushing, it's a masterpiece.

Expand full comment
Feb 7, 2020Liked by Best Evidence

This is an older book that I never hear discussed in the true crime genre, maybe because it is more sweeping non-fiction than just the crime part. I always recommend Peter Matthiessen’s ‘In The Spirit Of Crazy Horse’, about the Leonard Peltier case, AIM, FBI abuses, and the history of the Lakota tribe. It’s so beautifully written that it’s the book that showed me that non- fiction writing about these topics can be every bit as artful as good fiction writing.

Expand full comment
Feb 7, 2020Liked by Best Evidence

Book: Feather Thief

Podcast: among many, true crime bullshit

Doc: smartest guys in the room

Expand full comment
Feb 8, 2020Liked by Best Evidence

I'd be the best person for that museum heist podcast one. I know museums since I work at one. And well, it'd be an excuse to go inside and see how they run it.

Expand full comment
Feb 8, 2020Liked by Best Evidence

Murder on a Sunday Morning...Waco:The Rules Of Engagement....The Jinx(Especially when it was airing...b4 a lot of people knew the story...I had been following the story from a far since Durst was originally caught in Pennsylvania)

Expand full comment
Feb 8, 2020Liked by Best Evidence

oh..."Incident at Olglala"is another doc i often recommend....along with "The Staircase"...I see people talking about "Dear Zachary" below...that doc is so dark I'm selective about who i recommend it to...same w/the new doc "Don't Fuck w/Cats"...I also really liked the recent doc about Patty Hurst based on Toobin's book...however Sarah & I have different opinions on Patty's culpability 🤷🏻‍♂️

Expand full comment
Feb 11, 2020Liked by Best Evidence

Lately, I’ve been recommending “The Butcher of Paris,” all over the place. It’s a true crime comic book (not many of those!) about a case I’d never heard of: a serial killer on the loose in occupied France. The book does an excellent job of contrasting the approaches of the Nazi and French cops looking for the killer, and it’s a comic, so it reads quickly. The third issue (of 5) just came out, so still plenty of time to jump on (or wait three months for the collection).

Expand full comment