9 Comments
Mar 5, 2021Liked by Best Evidence

This a good reminder that it's often the "zoom" that matters! There are many instances of properties I thought I wasn't going to enjoy because of case fatigue, but then the writer/creator puts a spin on the story that I end up finding really compelling even if I didn't think I could stand to read another word on the subject. A good example of this is Jeff Guinn's Charles Manson book. Instead of re-treading the grisly particulars of the family murders, Guinn smartly approached it as a social history of America and California in the late 60s and early 70s. Karina Longworth's podcast series on Charles Manson's Hollywood did something similar.

So here are a few creator/well-tread subject match-ups I could really get behind:

Patrick Radden Keefe on Whitey Bulger, Erin Lee Carr on Carli Ann Fugate, Barry Jenkins on The Atlanta Child Murders, Kathleen Belew on Eric Rudolph.

Expand full comment
Mar 6, 2021Liked by Best Evidence

Jeff McDonald. Ugh.

Expand full comment
Mar 6, 2021Liked by Best Evidence

What about Rodney Alcala? Wouldn't it be amazing if someone put in the work and managed to identify some of the women in the photos he took? It would be interesting to hear their stories. It doesn't seem like many (if any?) have been IDed so far, though. . . .

Expand full comment
founding
Mar 6, 2021Liked by Best Evidence

Agree with all the comments thus far. For me it is the JFK assasination that gives me fatigue. I blame myself and my grade school obsession with the event and old Life magazines. The Sixth Floor Museum is the best take I have seen on it thus far as they spend time and space looking at how communities process trauma. But if Jeff Guinn or Tony Horowitz wrote a book on that i’d read it in a hearbeat. Same with anything he writes.

Expand full comment