4 Comments
Aug 3, 2022Liked by Best Evidence

It's one of those issues that is really hard to avoid. While I try to be ethical, mostly by listening to Best evidence and Crime Writers On before going into something, I'm not sure that it always works.

I have a friend who had a case with her older brother featured and she ends up getting people who are trying to solve the case of his disappearance. Who literally insert themselves into her life. It's made me pause and I haven't really dived back in to modern day things.

I think this is an important conversation. I'm just not sure where the line is.

Expand full comment
Aug 3, 2022Liked by Best Evidence

I was really appalled by the way Crime Scene: The Vanishing at the Cecil Hotel initially framed Elisa Lam's death as a possible murder rather than front-loading the actual (tragic but not nearly as dramatic as the theories) explanation of what happened. They get to the truth at the end, but you can make it more than halfway through that series without an inkling that her death was a tragic accident.

Expand full comment