16 Comments
Oct 4, 2019Liked by Best Evidence

I'm very into Wondery's The Mysterious Mr. Epstein, which I think is the superior Epstein podcast currently airing, though I'm sticking with Broken. And I haven't listened to this week's episode of The Blotter Presents yet because I want to check out Motive and Snowball first!

Sarah, I'm jealous that you're going to the TCO/MMM show! I'm a big fan of TCO and I loved to hate MMM until I finally started straight-up hating it.

Get well soon, Eve! I'm also in the throes of a cold, so I feel your pain.

Expand full comment
Oct 4, 2019Liked by Best Evidence

I'm picking up Poniewozik's book today from the library! And I went to a live True Crime Obsessed show in Toronto last week. The Maura Murray event should be wild. I do love the Twitter romance that bloomed between the TCO hosts and Maggie. I recently finished Dead Blondes and Bad Mothers by Sady Doyle. While not entirely true crime related, there is some salient content there. Particularly Doyle's analysis of the Laci Peterson case. And as I wrote in my Goodreads review, I think she has the best explanation I've read in awhile of why women love true crime (and it is something I've heard SDB remark upon as well)...that we are drawn to puzzling out violence, which governs women's decision making in so many ways, because we live with it every day. We're figuring out how to be that "Final Girl" (the figure in a horror film that outwits and rises above the killer). This week we finally finished "Unbelievable" and I loved it. I've got a work trip with some lengthy plane rides coming up next week and I'm trying to decide what books to bring with me. I've got a few classics/frequently recommended true crime books on my shelf that it might be time to tackle.

Expand full comment
Oct 4, 2019Liked by Best Evidence

I'll have the whole weekend (mostly) spouse-free, so plan to spend the days binging @yourewrongabout podcast while working on my woefully abandoned cross-stitch projects, and the nights watching past the first episode of Unbelievable and reading Tangerine by Christine Mangan, which isn't true crime, but is extremely scratching my Talented Mr. Ripley itch...

Expand full comment
Oct 4, 2019Liked by Best Evidence

I just finished The Thing About Pam. Which was... Insane. And upsetting. But an interesting listen.

Expand full comment