6 Comments
Aug 17, 2022Liked by Best Evidence

It definitely feels like it's gotten more 'cartoonish' for want of a better word. Not that season 1 was realistic, but this time around there's a LOT of wacky stuff happening (secret passageways, foul-mouthed parrots etc.) that means that when the more serious/dramatic story beats hit I don't know how to feel about them. The cast all look like they're having fun, but I think that might be at the expense of much of the impact that the story might otherwise have had. I guess there is limited value to be derived from satirising something fairly niche like true crime podcasts and so, as you say, they are trying to see what else they can do with these characters and this world... I will stick it out for the finale, but not sure I would come back for season 3 (if there is one).

Expand full comment
Aug 17, 2022·edited Aug 17, 2022Liked by Best Evidence

I haven't watched it yet, despite having loved season 1. I am a very "seasonal" person when it comes to tv shows and movies (books too), and for some reason, the middle of summertime is not when I want to watch shows like this. Season 1 dropped right before Labor Day, if I am remembering correctly, and that felt like the perfect time for it. So I will probably be a weirdo and watch it this Labor Day weekend, too.

Expand full comment
Aug 17, 2022Liked by Best Evidence

I'm waiting to binge the whole thing (that's just my thing -- I have Hulu regardless).

Expand full comment
Aug 18, 2022Liked by Best Evidence

Looking forward to the new season once I finish my binge rewatch of the L Word. If you haven’t, you should. If it’s been awhile, even better.

Expand full comment
Aug 20, 2022Liked by Best Evidence

I'm not enjoying this season quite as much as the first one, although my main concern stems from all the plot points (the painting, Charles' father, Alice and whatever she was doing that I still don't understand, etc) that have seemingly been dropped. I keep thinking that they have a LOT of loose ends to tie up in the 2 remaining episodes, and I'm concerned that some will be left hanging.

Expand full comment
Aug 24, 2022·edited Aug 24, 2022Liked by Best Evidence

I just finished the season and it’s not as tight as season 1. I liked it and I get why they wanted to give the other residents of the apartment building more depth, but I think it detracted from the flow of the season overall.

Expand full comment