39 Comments
deletedNov 24, 2022Liked by Best Evidence
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
Nov 23, 2022Liked by Best Evidence

I don't have a the weekend off being Canadian and all, and the true crime's going to happen late in this book, but I picked up Sarah Horowitz's The Red Widow based on an interview with Kate Lister's Betwixt the Sheets podcast. Pure Belle Epoque trashiness and I was curious if it was worth picking up after listening to the episode, but I downloaded the preview and went, "Wait, he did what?" and then bought the book.

I think I'm most looking forward to how the 40-something titular widow explains that she was mistaken for her adolescent daughter and that's why the attackers, who killed her husband and mother, left her tied up instead of killing her as well.

Expand full comment
Nov 23, 2022Liked by Best Evidence

I’m off all this week and have been cheesing it up with awful Reelz content that I can nap to/through. I’ve also seen a few historical documentaries on Netflix that weren’t awful, and seasoning it all with some MST3K Turkey Day + Rifftrax “Mitchell” & “Touch of Satan” on YouTube :)

I also might be gobbling down 6 jars of Trader Joe’s cranberry sauce. By myself. In bed. Whilst watching aforementioned content.

Look. At least I’m eating at all, & this will be a decent Thursday, maybe a nonColonized day. Like the TJ’s bagger said, “They could be 6 bags of heroin. That would be a poor choice. But cranberry sauce? Who’s on your case?”

Thanks for helping inform my poor choices, Eve & Sarah & cheers! (Clinks jars together.)

Expand full comment
Nov 23, 2022Liked by Best Evidence

I'm currently watching "Pepsi where's my jet?" Not necessarily true crime (unless you want to include false advertising and corporate greed lol) but it's really pretty good.

Expand full comment
Nov 23, 2022Liked by Best Evidence

As with all holiday weekends, I make plans to ‘get stuff done,’ and then am SO SURPRISED when none of it does. If I get around to it, I’ll either continue to read The Mueller Report (I know, I know) or, much more relevant now in America, “How Civil Wars Start and How to Stop Them.” Saw Pepsi, where’s my jet, and it was fascinating and, to the best of my knowledge, no one died during the entire shenanigans. To me Pepsi tastes like cleaning fluid and this bullshit story adds to that general distaste. HAPPY THANKSGIVING EVERYONE (whether it’s your country’s celebration tomorrow or whenever it is)!

Expand full comment
Nov 23, 2022Liked by Best Evidence

I am dying to know what the wikihole was! Mine were Angela Diniz, after a Cosmo longread on her killing in Brazil in the 70s, and Ryan Lizza's MeToo accusations.

Expand full comment
Nov 23, 2022Liked by Best Evidence

My Question: Is that Clark Griswold stabbing the turkey?

Expand full comment
Nov 24, 2022Liked by Best Evidence

I have finished reading and watching almost all the available [English language] NXIVM-related content in the world, save the actual court transcripts. If I can find those uploaded for free somewhere, I will read them. Otherwise, I think I will stick to fiction this weekend.

Expand full comment
Nov 24, 2022Liked by Best Evidence

I know this is a lot of morbid things at once, but I’m in Jersey with a lot of loud yelling people and disassociating with Idaho/Delphi content. Anyone got theories? Happy Thanksgiving peeps <3

Expand full comment
author

Any "American Greed"-ers in here? Any from the latest season I should clap an eye on? - SDB

Expand full comment
Nov 26, 2022Liked by Best Evidence

For Thanksgiving, I’d like to thank whichever BE commenter recommended Cabin Pressure to Eve when she asked for listening recs some months ago. It’s become one of my new favorite comfort listens when I just need something cheery and silly and soothing for when I’m trying to fall asleep. Really, it has markedly improved my life. Thanks so much for sharing it.

Expand full comment
founding
Nov 27, 2022Liked by Best Evidence

I am reading like a fool - have to beat last year’s Goodreads total. Finished Demon Copperhead, which I ended up loving - makes a great companion to Empire of Pain - and then Deer Creek Drive, which I wish had concentrated on Mississippi murders and mores of the ‘50s and ‘60s, and less on shoehorning the author’s early life in MS in there. That’s just a deplorable trend in true crime. Reading everything I can about the Idaho case; loathing our gun culture in the U.S., and re-watching Parks & Rec when everything gets too unbearable.

Expand full comment