5 Comments
Feb 28, 2020Liked by Best Evidence

As a new parent, I will be sitting this one out.

Expand full comment
Feb 28, 2020Liked by Best Evidence

I watched because I'm a social worker. It was hard to watch but important, I think. Episode 5 was interesting because they talked about systemic issues as week as efforts to use predictive Analytics to help determine risk. It is hard to have that kind of responsibility and I appreciate the attempt to look at the big picture rather than just sensationalizing his death.

Expand full comment
Feb 29, 2020Liked by Best Evidence

there are so many horrors of history my people are asked to be witness to. I feel responsible to be a witness to other people’s horrific behavior.

Expand full comment
founding

I didn’t think I could stomach this, and I have had to take breaks, but I’ve been watching with bouts of Toast of London in between. I still am not certain that I understand how this battered and bruised boy kept getting passed by. Shouldn’t we adopt the “trust but verify” standard? Listen to the parents but double-check their statements? Listen to the child and double-check him (away from the parents)? Call the school? And for heaven’s sake, either get rid of Maximus, or install VERY different performance guarantees.

Expand full comment