17 Comments
Jul 16, 2021Liked by Best Evidence

I remember listening to the first episode of the Wondery podcast almost in a panic because it was basically an imposter syndrome nightmare. After the second episode I was just _pissed_. How DARE he have that much confidence?

Yeah, that's more of a me issue.

Expand full comment
founding
Jul 16, 2021Liked by Best Evidence

I listened to the podcast and am hesitating to watch the show because i liked the podcast’s storytelling so much. The podcast did change how I interact with doctors and I gravitate more to the ones that divulge the risk/reward spectrum of interventions more now. I avoid the doctors who like to label themselves “superman.” (No suprise that I’ve never met a doctor who labels herself “superwoman”; its just the dudes).

Expand full comment
Jul 16, 2021Liked by Best Evidence

I loved the podcast and the show is on my to watch list for the weekend. Glad you're liking it, Sarah!

Expand full comment

I am about midway through myself. So far it's not bad but the timelines are annoying me. I wish it was a bit more straight forward but hopefully by the end it will make sense. The acting is solid!

Expand full comment
Jul 16, 2021Liked by Best Evidence

Thanks for the recommendation Sarah! Loved the podcast. I audibly gasped several times. Will watch the show. :)

Expand full comment
founding

Haven’t started watching yet because THERE ARE TOO MANY STREAMING SERVICES. So, I’m kind of half-heartedly boycotting. I’m will probably cancel Disney and then follow up accordingly. Friends of mine worked with the guy at Baylor health system in Dallas, and thought he was loony. (Just not loony enough to do anything about, which we have discussed. Parallels to Tom Girardi??)

Expand full comment
Jul 17, 2021Liked by Best Evidence

I'm on the third ep. Loving it except for the surgery scenes which I'm struggling with. Overally, it's making me even angrier than when I listened to the podcast. I didn't watch Dirty John so it's been a while since I've seen Slater in anything and I'm reminded why I like him.

Expand full comment

Follow up - I finished it up today and dang. I'm pretty impressed. The mixing timelines is annoying but it does work that issue out a bit at the end. It's really well done and well acted.

Expand full comment
Jul 17, 2021Liked by Best Evidence

I liked the first season of the podcast very much. I wasn't planning to watch the documentary immediately -- for some reason, I prefer my body horror in the winter, when my own body is covered in many layers of sweaters and blankets. But since Sarah and others have enjoyed it so much, maybe I'll move up my timeline. In fact, I think I will tell my Aunt Rita (my true crime aunt) to save it for my visit and we can watch it together.

Expand full comment
Jul 19, 2021Liked by Best Evidence

I watched the first 3 episodes over the weekend because they were free and I really like it so far. I agree that trying to figure what was going through duntsh’s head is somewhat pointless because I doubt even he knows exactly why he did any of this. I think the show has so far done a good job of showing all the loopholes he wiggled through to continue being terrible and how the system helped to cover for him.

Expand full comment
founding
Jul 19, 2021Liked by Best Evidence

I do think that the how of this is definitely more interesting than the why. The dude should have had his license stripped after his first surgery. Failing that, he needed an intensive surgical mentorship with a reassessment in six months. Doctors and lawyers do a terrible job of policing themselves. We cut each other way too much collegial slack. IMHO.

Expand full comment
Jul 21, 2021Liked by Best Evidence

I’m 4 episodes in and really enjoying (if that’s the right word) it. My husband dropped out half way through the second episode announcing there was “too much squelching” for him. The sound of the operations is unnerving. I’m looking forward to finishing it off.

Expand full comment
Jul 21, 2021Liked by Best Evidence

I finished last night - definitely had me hooked. Surgery scenes were tough, though not sure which was more disturbing - the squelching or the seemingly casual hammering with mallets and other tools?!? I have been listening to the podcast (first season - didn't realize there was a 2nd) and I feel like Jerry turned against Pacey much more quickly in the podcast, but maybe that was just the different pacing or sequencing. Would be on-board for a Slater/Baldwin spin off!

Expand full comment